Tuesday, July 27, 2010

All Sorts of New EPage!

EPs are kind of hard for a guy like me to keep up with, they're nice, but I prefer Albums, plus they aren't as hard to find out about as EPs.

This past couple months have given me three reasons to retract that statement. Here they are:

Major Lazer - "Lazers Never Die"
This new and highly anticipated EP from Major Lazer features 2 new tracks and 3 remixes. One track features M.I.A. whose presence feels completely natural to be along side Diplo and Switch. One of the remixes on the EP is done by Thom Yorke, which may seem a bit surprising, but those of you who enjoy remixes and b-sides should know that Mr.Yorke has a nice little history with hip-hop, both performing on tracks and remixing songs by MF DOOM and others. This EP is a must have for a Major Lazer fan.

Los Campesinos - "All's Well That Ends"
These indie pop vets show a more acoustic side in "All's Well..." as it features four acoustic versions of songs from their album released earlier this year, "Romance Is Boring". The neat thing about this EP is, they chose great songs from "Romance Is Boring", such as In Media Res and Romance Is Boring. The songs sound great and are perfect for a quiet night alone, or laying with a loved one.

J Dilla - "Donut Shop"
Even though J Dilla is dead and gone, his impact on hip-hop is still there, and stones throw records have decided to release a new EP, and as I feel sleepy and lazy now, I'll just post the press release:
"The J Dilla tracks consist of three previously unreleased instrumentals selected by J.Rocc from the Dilla archives – “Safety Dance”, “Sycamore”, “Bars & Twists” – and three unreleased instrumental versions of Dilla's production for Mos Def, Q-Tip and Busta Rhymes, each remastered by Elysian Masters who mixed and mastered J Dilla's Donuts, The Shining and Ruff Draft albums."

Welp, if I forgot some, lemme know in the comment box, happy listening! - Matt Galey

1 comment:

  1. Safety Dance is so good. i didn't know dilla inta covers.